Introducing myself

Well I’m building this website; I should probably introduce myself to it. My name is Brooks Thomas, I’m a hobbyist chess player and professional programmer. I’ve used and enjoyed a lot of tools like opening explorers and tactics puzzles to get (slightly) better at chess but there are very few available for checkers. I was talking to a friend and lamenting this fact when he asked “why don’t you build one?” So two years later here we are. Thanks Rob!

I enjoy the game and I think checkers players deserve the same features that chess players are used to. But I’m an absolute beginner checkers player so as the site nears completion and the worst of the bugs are killed I will need feedback and help. It’s very much a work in progress though so when you see bugs point them out here and I’ll try to fix them.

Thanks and enjoy!
Brooks

*edit*: I love the introductions, I hope people continue to say ‘hello’ but this thread has grown unwieldy. So I’m closing it and creating a new category for introductions. Please say hi over there.

I love about 4/5 games I play right now. It’s a little demoralizing but it’s reminder not to rush.

Yeah, I do best if I take about five minutes per problem. I’m often not patient enough and I play my first instinct which is wrong.

This all looks really promising. Practicing checker tactics is vital for players at nearly every level, but until now it hasn’t been so easy to do that.

Let’s all be patient while Brooks works on this. I’m certain the site will only get better and better.

2 Likes

Speaking of better, I just realized saving attempts didn’t work if you had zero attempts already (like all new users). This was a recent regression but an unfortunately timed one. It should be fixed.

Good to see an interest in checkers. Thanks for developing this site.

2 Likes

My pleasure. I hope you enjoy it.